Here comes the Son

My heart was filled with a hope and a longing this morning, for I was reminded that our King is coming and He comes soon. The dawn is coming and the light is coming and the light (and life and love) will pierce every shred of darkness on this earth and in our hearts, seen and unseen.

I ride to homebush to do 5 x 5km laps on some Thursday mornings, and towards the fitnish of each lap, we ride east into the sunrise. The sunrise was timed this morning just so that it was dark on the 1st lap. On the 3rd lap, we glimpsed the orange/purple sky glow of an imminent sunrise. By the 4th lap, it was light. And the sunrise stirred something in me this morning.

And this is our hope is it not? That there is a man who is bringing about justice and redemption right now, and it shall be brought to completion when he returns a second time. This is our hope is it not? That this man is wiping and will wipe away every tear from our eyes.

This hope is not one that is lofty and disconnected from the reality of a suffering and hurting world, but it is one that is rooted in the reality of the incarnation. God chose to get all up in our mess. He chose not to stand back, but to get down and dirty. And the critical thing is that the God on the cross, is the same God who is at work THIS MINUTE, restoring and redeeming in every homicide, every disease, every addiction. This is who he is. He can’t help himself. He can’t help himself helping us – not just 2000 years ago, but this very minute. He is the same yesterday today and forever!

And the justice and redemption He is bringing about – is almost NEVER in the ways which we expect. If you would take a step back for a moment, this could only be seen as a good thing and I must trust that the eternal God who created the world and the 7 billion people alive today is infinitely wiser and has an infinitely better sense of justice than my 28 year old male heart and mind. And as I look back on my life, I see the brokenness, I see the sickness, I see my mistakes, I see my pride, but there is an overriding theme, almost like a golden tune that weaves in and through and over and around my fleshly life-song. It’s almost like a glorious dance and the result is so beautiful, not on any account of my dancing abilities, but totally on the ability of the leader.

And so my heart is filled with a hope and a longing today, for my life and the life of my friends, for Sydney, for Australia and New Zealand, and for this world. It may seem dark right now, but there is a faint trace of light on the horizon, and the light shall increase with frightening intensity. The Son-rise is coming. And it shall be glorious.

Leave a Reply

