The one thing that matters now…

More and more I’m feeling as if one thing and one thing matters. Worship. It’s the one thing that matters now and it’s the one thing that will matter into eternity.

To delight in God and be delighted in by him. And when all is said and done, what if God looks not at the size of our CV, or the size of our bank accounts or how many investment properties we acquired. Nor the size of our ministries or how many people we talked to about Jesus or how many good blog posts we wrote. But on how well we loved. And that is what the first commandment is about right?

And with great joy I am finding that doing the first commandment and the activity of worship cannot be contained to a prayer room or a church service, despite the legalistic and religious boxes I used to place around the task. It is uncontainable. I am finding that it is not some ascetic holier than thou activity but that it is seeping it’s way into everything I do.  From the morning bike ride to the root canal to the double shot flat white. And I find God delighting in all that I do and that somehow there is, increasingly, the freedom to delight in God through all that I do.

And the classic hymn that goes: “Turn your eyes upon Jesus, look full in his wonderful face, and the things of earth will grow strangely dim” is still true. But there is another sense in which the more you look at Jesus the more real and beautiful the things on earth become as well. Another beautiful mystery in this glorious journey we are on.

“I want to run on greener pastures
I want to dance on higher hills
I want to drink from sweeter waters
In the misty morning chill
And my soul is getting restless
For the place where I belong
I can’t wait to join the angels and sing my heaven song”

Leave a Reply

