Just had a conversation with someone that said “God would bless me because I’ve done so much for him in the past and that there’s no need to worry”. This was said in the context of finances.

And it just struck me that the place in my heart where this statement leads is a place I want to avoid going.

Because there can be the assumption behind this sort of statement that we could do anything for God.

And this sort of thinking may lead me down the path of entitlement and pride when things are going well, but when things are not going so well this road only leads to bitterness and disappointment.

And I think that it doesn’t matter in the least, what we do or don’t do for God.

Oh, for the right perspective!

For Christ has done everything for me! And he continues to do so today. He put himself on a cross for my sake and continues to intercede, that TODAY my very heart might beat, that TODAY I might keep breathing every breath. That I would be able to walk the next step. His grace is the only thing that sustains my every waking moment and it is his goodness is the mercy that keeps me on the narrow path.

So I want to walk in thankfulness and contentment. For I have everything I need and everything I will ever need. This is the path of freedom, this is the path of joy, and this is the path of contentment.

Prone to wander Lord I feel it
Prone to leave the God I love
Here’s my heart Lord
Take and seal it
Seal it for Thy courts above.

Leave a Reply

